Tunable quantum cascade system

LaserTune ™: Quantum cascade laser with broadly tunable mid-infrared range

Description

Block Engineering's new generation of Laser Engineering represents a significant leap forward by providing the ultimate source of mid-infrared pulsed quantum cascade lasers (QCL) to meet the demands of the research community. The fully integrated "single box" concept has been taken to new extremes with a significant reduction in footprint size, saving considerable space on the laboratory bench. This single box also offers the widest range of space-free adjustment available on the market from 5.4 to 12.8 microns. No external power supply or control peripherals are required.

 

Key considerations in the design of the new LaserTune were to provide the end user with the ultimate flexibility to optimize the source to meet the application requirements. An intuitive user interface has been designed with an integrated touch screen for complete configuration of all source parameters directly on the device. In addition, the instrument comes with a wireless capability for the remote control so that it can be programmed via an iPad or other computer device. The software provides the user with the ability to adjust critical laser parameters, including QCL thermal control, pumping current, pulse parameters, and internal and external triggering.

 

LaserTune can now be programmed to operate in several modes, including Move Tune (manual control), Step Tune with programmable steps, and Sweep Tune with programmable scan parameters. LaserTune provides extremely fast scanning capability at 25 cm-1 per millisecond. The system supports pulse durations between 20 and 500 nsec, a repetition rate of up to ~ 3 MHz and a duty cycle of up to 15%. Pulses can be triggered internally at regular intervals with an available timing signal. External triggering is also supported. The beam size is approx. 2 mm x 4 mm with peak pointing stability.

 

Key Points

  • Gap free tuning range λ ≈ Δν 5.4 - 12.8 µm (Δν> 1050 cm-1)
  • configurable with up to 4 internal laser modules
  • Fastest setting (sweep 25 cm-1 / msec)
  • Excellent beam pointing stability
  • Fully integrated single housing solution
  • Flexible and user-friendly interface
  • Ideal for OEM and portable applications

Specifications

Full specifications in the download file

Applications

  • Security and Defence
  • Gas Detection and Analysis 
  • Chemical Detection and Analysis

Application Notes and Technical Articles

Products you may be interested in

Système accordable à cascade quantique

LaserTune ™: Laser en cascade quantique à moyen infrarouge largement accordable

Description

La nouvelle génération de Laser Engineering de Block Engineering représente un bond en avant significatif en offrant la source ultime de laser à cascade quantique (QCL) pulsé moyen infrarouge pour répondre aux exigences de la communauté de la recherche. Le concept de «boîte unique» entièrement intégré a été poussé à de nouveaux extrêmes avec une réduction significative de la taille de l’encombrement, économisant ainsi un espace considérable sur le banc de laboratoire. Cette boîte unique offre également la plus large gamme de réglage sans espace disponible sur le marché de 5,4 à 12,8 microns. Aucune alimentation externe ou périphérique de contrôle n’est requise.

 

Les considérations clés dans la conception du nouveau LaserTune étaient de fournir à l’utilisateur final une flexibilité ultime pour optimiser la source afin de répondre aux exigences de l’application. Une interface utilisateur intuitive a été conçue avec un écran tactile intégré pour une configuration complète de tous les paramètres de source directement sur l’appareil. De plus, l’instrument est livré avec une capacité sans fil pour la télécommande afin qu’il puisse être programmé via un iPad ou un autre périphérique informatique. Le logiciel offre à l’utilisateur la possibilité d’ajuster les paramètres laser critiques, y compris le contrôle thermique du QCL, le courant de pompage, les paramètres d’impulsion et le déclenchement interne et externe.

 

Le LaserTune peut maintenant être programmé pour fonctionner dans plusieurs modes, dont Move Tune (contrôle manuel), Step Tune avec étapes programmables et Sweep Tune avec paramètres de balayage programmables. LaserTune offre une capacité de balayage extrêmement rapide à 25 cm-1 par milliseconde. Le système prend en charge des durées d’impulsion comprises entre 20 et 500 nsec, un taux de répétition allant jusqu’à ~ 3 MHz et un rapport cyclique allant jusqu’à 15%. Les impulsions peuvent être déclenchées en interne à intervalles réguliers avec un signal de synchronisation disponible. Le déclenchement externe est également pris en charge. La taille du faisceau est d’environ 2 mm x 4 mm avec une stabilité de pointage de pointe.

 

Points Clés

  • Gap free tuning range λ ≈ 5,4 – 12,8 µm (Δν> 1050 cm-1)
  • configurable avec jusqu’à 4 modules laser internes
  • Réglage le plus rapide (balayage 25 cm-1 / msec)
  • Excellente stabilité de pointage du faisceau
  • Solution entièrement intégrée à boîtier unique
  • Interface flexible et conviviale
  • Idéal pour les applications OEM et portables

Spécifications

Spécifications complètes dans le fichier en téléchargement

Applications

  • Sécurité et Défense
  • Détection et Analyse de gaz 
  • Détection et Analyse chimique

Notes d'Applications et Articles Techniques

Produits qui pourraient vous intéresser